There are two energy standards Philadelphia homeowners and builders need to know about: 2015 IECC and 2018 IECC. These are two different energy standards used for residential dwellings, and the one that applies to you will depend on the age, size, and location of your home.

Homes that fall under 2015 IECC:

  • Residential buildings
  • Built before or during October 2018
  • Groups R-2, R-3, R-4
  • Permanent occupancy

Homes that fall under 2018 IECC:

● Four or more stories
● Multi Family homes
● Duplexes
● Multifamily groups R-2, R-3, R-4

The purpose of these energy codes is to increase the energy efficiency of buildings in Pennsylvania’s climate zone 4, decreasing the state’s energy demands and improving energy distribution. Although regulations are progressively becoming stricter, the codes leave a lot of flexibility for homeowners in determining how they want to reach compliance.
Read more about alternative routes choosing the performance or prescriptive paths here.
To reach compliance, you must receive passing scores in your duct and envelope testing, ensuring an acceptable number of air changes per hour. Duct and envelope testing are essential for knowing where you need to make improvements and sealing leaks you can’t see with the naked eye.